Next Local Meeting Thursday, March 21st at 17:00

Our next Member's meeting will be in person at the PCC theatre!

This will be a nomination meeting for the next local executive for 2024!

Come meet the candidates who will be on the voting ballot.

Join us:

External link opens in new tab or window Click here to join Zoom meeting 

Or Call in:  1-587-328-1099

Meeting : 833 5031 359

Health Care Workers Ratify Provincial Collective Agreement

Members of the nine-union Facilities Bargaining Association (FBA) have ratified a new three-year collective agreement

with B.C.’s health employers by a vote of 64 per cent.  Here are the voting results for the RJH Local:

Yes: 635 - 58.91% Yes

No:  443 - 41.09% No

Total: 1078

External link opens in new tab or windowWe have created a plain language document covering our tentative agreement

HEU's 33rd Biennial Convention

More than 600 delegates elected 26 Provincial Executive (PE) members at HEU’s 33rd biennial convention in Vancouver held October 16-21. 

HEU president Barb Nederpel and financial secretary Betty Valenzuela were re-elected to their third terms in office.

Delegates also re-elected 1st vice-president Bill McMullan (Kardel local) and 2nd vice-president Charlotte Millington (Royal Jubilee local),

and Donovan Adlam (PHSA Amalgamated local) was elected 3rd vice-president. Senior trustee-elect Chris Batting (Prince George local)

and trustee Olivia Burgon (Queen’s Park local) were also elected. They’ll join Talitha Dekker (accounts receivable clerk, Kamloops/Thompson),

who was elected at the last convention and will serve as senior trustee for the next two years.

Delegates made history on Wednesday when they elected the union’s new diversity vice-president (DVP) positions and their alternates.

    • Ethnic Diversity – Cora Mojica (Vancouver General local), 1st alternate Belina Fernandez (Victoria General local), 2nd alternate Manoj Saxena (Royal Jubilee local)
    • Indigenous Peoples – Lynn Serhan (Armstrong local), 1st alternate Teresa Roe (Langley local)
    • People with Disabilities – Christine Edgecombe (CMHA Fraser local), 1st alternate Dane Philpott (Royal Jubilee local), 2nd alternate Natasha Cox (Buchanan local)
    • Pink Triangle – Darlene Bown (Victoria General local), 1st alternate Ronald Larsen (Becon local), 2nd alternate Kevin Dickie (Lions Gate local)
    • 2-Spirit, Women & Non-Binary – Lisa Kreut (Vancouver General local), 1st alternate Samantha Cartwright (Prince George local), 2nd alternate Judy Gicho (Aramark Critical Care Tower Surrey local)
    • Young Workers – Seyda Yalcin (Coast/VRC local), 1st alternate Nicole Nellaney (Louis Brier local), 2nd alternate Che Baines (Coast/VRC local)
    • Vancouver Island RVP's Elected: Ian Smith (Royal Jubilee local, South Island), 1st alternate Teresa McCoy (South Vancouver Island local), 2nd alternate Barbara Riggs (Royal Jubilee local), Phil Henderson (Arranglen, North Island), 1st alternate Kim Heaps (Arrowsmith local),  2nd alternate Crystal Christianson (Tri-Port local)